Pour bénéficier d’une expérience Web optimale, utilisez Internet Explorer 11 ou version ultérieure, Chrome, Firefox, ou Safari.

Outil de modélisation des données

La modélisation des données a toujours été le meilleur moyen de comprendre les sources de données complexes et d’automatiser les normes de conception et les règles d’intégrité. Aujourd’hui, le rôle de la modélisation des données s’est élargi pour devenir le point central de la collaboration entre les générateurs, les gestionnaires et les consommateurs de données. En effet, la modélisation des données est le meilleur moyen de visualiser les métadonnées, et les métadonnées sont désormais au cœur de la gestion des données d’entreprise, ainsi que de la gouvernance des données et des efforts décisionnels.
Outil de modélisation des données
Qu’est-ce qu’un modèle de données ?

Qu’est-ce qu’un modèle de données ?

Un modèle de données est une représentation visuelle des éléments de données et des relations entre eux. Les modèles de données aident les ressources commerciales et techniques à collaborer à la conception des systèmes d’information et des bases de données sur lesquels elles s’appuient. Ils montrent quelles données sont nécessaires et comment elles doivent être structurées pour soutenir les différents processus métiers.

Il existe trois types fondamentaux de modèles de données, chacun ayant un objectif spécifique :

Qu’est-ce que la modélisation des données ?

La modélisation des données est le processus de création d’un modèle de données pour communiquer les besoins en données, documentant les structures de données et les types d’entités. Elle sert de guide visuel pour concevoir et déployer des bases de données avec des sources de données de haute qualité dans le cadre du développement d’applications.

La modélisation des données est utilisée depuis des décennies pour aider les organisations à définir et catégoriser leurs données, établissant des normes et des règles pour qu’elles puissent être consommées puis utilisées par les systèmes d’information. Aujourd’hui, la modélisation des données est d’autant plus utile que les données essentielles existent dans des formats structurés et non structurés et qu’elles sont conservées sur site ou dans le Cloud. Il s’agit donc d’un moyen économique et efficace de gérer et gouverner d’énormes volumes de données, alignant les actifs de données sur les fonctions commerciales qu’ils servent. Vous pouvez automatiquement générer des modèles de données et des conceptions de bases de données pour augmenter l’efficacité et réduire les erreurs et ainsi améliorer la productivité de vos modélisateurs de données, et des autres parties prenantes.

Avantages de la modélisation des données

Vous ne pouvez pas gérer ce que vous ne voyez pas. C’est pourquoi la modélisation des données est un élément essentiel de la gestion des métadonnées, de la gouvernance des données et de l’intelligence des données. Elle offre une vue intégrée des modèles conceptuels, logiques et physiques de données afin d’aider les parties prenantes commerciales et informatiques à comprendre les structures de données et leur signification. La modélisation des données est la première étape pour garantir l’utilisation, la compréhension et la fiabilité des informations stratégiques dans toute l’entreprise. La modélisation des données présente des avantages spécifiques :

Détecter, normaliser et documenter les sources de données existantes pour la visualisation et l’analyse ; concevoir et déployer des sources de données de qualité supérieure sur des plateformes disparates

Utiliser des modèles de données pour migrer et redéployer les structures de bases de données vers de nouveaux systèmes et plateformes de gestion de bases de données

Comparer visuellement, analyser et synchroniser les modèles de données avec les actifs de données déployés

Soutenir les exigences réglementaires de plus en plus strictes, telles que le GDPR et la loi CCPA

Donner aux collaborateurs un accès en libre-service pour la fonctionnalité, la connaissance et la responsabilité des données d’entreprise

Gouverner les équipes, les processus, les portefeuilles et le cycle de vie de la modélisation des données pour soutenir les exigences réglementaires de plus en plus strictes

Rédiger et intégrer des constructions de gouvernance des données actives, configurations de métadonnées et commentaires de parties prenantes pour simplifier la collaboration entre les rôles clés et améliorer l’alignement

Améliorer les processus métiers pour une efficacité opérationnelle

Les outils de modélisation des données ont prouvé que si vous prenez le temps et investissez dès le départ, vous évitez de douloureuses et onéreuses erreurs plus tard dans le processus de développement. Le modèle de données est donc une fonctionnalité à faible risque et faible coût qui prend en charge de nombreux cas d’utilisation, notamment :

  • La conception et le déploiement de bases de données avec la maintenance des schémas
  • La conception de la gestion des données de référence et l’intégration des données
  • La gestion des métadonnées
  • La conception de systèmes d’analyse/business intelligence et l’analyse des sources de données
  • La conception/documentation d’entrepôts et lacs de données
  • L’adoption des Big Data
  • La rationalisation et la migration de SGBD
  • La gouvernance des données
  • La data intelligence

Pourquoi adopter le logiciel de modélisation des données d’erwin ?

erwin a été le pionnier de la modélisation des données et travaille depuis plus de 30 ans avec les plus grandes entreprises du monde entier pour les aider à en exploiter les avantages. erwin Data Modeler de Quest reste le logiciel le plus reconnu pour la modélisation des données et la conception de bases de données, automatisant les tâches complexes et chronophages liées à la découverte, la conception, la documentation, la normalisation et au déploiement des sources de données.

 

Nous avons développé ce que nous pensons être la meilleure solution de modélisation des données avec plusieurs versions pour répondre aux besoins des clients, en veillant à ce que nos fonctionnalités, nos workflows et notre support aident le modélisateur de données professionnel à produire les résultats commerciaux souhaités. Avec erwin Data Modeler, vous disposez d’une solution unique pour tous vos besoins en modélisation des données d’entreprise et conception de bases de données, ce qui vous permet de modéliser toutes vos données, partout pour :

  • visualiser les structures des bases de données commerciales et techniques dans un modèle intégré riche en métadonnées ;
  • normaliser et réutiliser les définitions centrales et les structures de données entre les projets, avec le modèle de données et les métadonnées associées stockés dans un espace de stockage central ;
  • stocker les définitions métiers et les règles métiers axées sur les données dans le modèle, ainsi que les schémas de base de données techniques, les procédures et autres informations ;
  • extraire et convertir des données à partir d’applications ERP, CRM et autres applications d’entreprise ;
  • rationaliser les incohérences des plateformes et offrir une source unique de vérité pour toutes les données commerciales de l’entreprise ;
  • permettre aux utilisateurs professionnels d’avoir confiance dans les informations qu’ils utilisent pour prendre leurs décisions.

Commencez dès maintenant

Si vous avez des données, vous avez besoin de la modélisation des données pour voir et comprendre tous les actifs de données de votre entreprise. Utilisez erwin Data Modeler pour réduire la complexité et promouvoir la connaissance des données d’entreprise, la collaboration et la responsabilité.

Ressources

Vidéo

What Is Data Modeling? 2 Minute erwin Expert Explanation

Data modeling helps organizations visualize and understand complex data systems and sources. With this understanding, organizations...
Livre blanc

Data Modeling: Drive Business Value and Underpin Governance with an Enterprise Data Model

This white paper discusses data modeling and its business value across the enterprise. It also discusses the most common use cases...
eBook

Application Development Is New Again

Find out how to get a head start on competitors in a world where application development is indeed new again, with our e-book that...
Événement en ligne

Webcast: Build better data models

<p>You need to come up with a data model for a system. But where do you start? What do you need to know? What should you expect...
Événement en ligne

Data Modeling 101 for the cloud

<p>For standard OLTP applications, data modeling leveraging proven best practices and good design such as normalization are essential....
Événement en ligne

Data Modeling 201 for the cloud

<p>For data marts and warehouses, data modeling leveraging proven best practices and good design such as denormalization are essential....
Événements et séminaires

Data Governance & Information Quality Conference (DGIQ)

<div style="text-align:left;">The Data Governance &amp; Information Quality Conference (DGIQ) is the world&rsquo;s most comprehensive...
Événement en ligne

Virtual Conference: EDM DataVision

<p>We are eager to announce EDM Council's DataVision 2021 Virtual Conference. This global conference series (previously called ...

Contact Us

Call Us

+1 800-78-erwin
(800-783-7946)

Click here for a list of erwin’s global offices.

Technical Support
Submit a Ticket

+1 813-773-4170

Chat

Get live sales support.

Email

Send us comments or
ask general questions.

info@erwin.com

Data Modeling Tools

Design, deploy and understand complex business and technical data structures

Learn More Resources

Data modeling has always been the best way to understand complex data sources and automate design standards and integrity rules. Today, the role of data modeling has expanded as the central point of collaboration between data generators, stewards and consumers. That’s because data modeling is the best way to visualize metadata, and metadata is now the heart of enterprise data management, as well as data governance and intelligence efforts.

What Is a Data Model?

A data model is a visual representation of data elements and the relationships between them. Data models help business and technical resources collaborate in the design of information systems and the databases that power them. They show what data is required and how it needs to be structured to support various business processes.

There are three basic types of data models, each with a specific purpose:

What Is Data Modeling?

Data modeling is the process of creating a data model to communicate data requirements, documenting data structures and entity types. It serves as a visual guide in designing and deploying databases with high-quality data sources as part of application development.

Data modeling has been used for decades to help organizations define and categorize their data, establishing standards and rules so it can be consumed and then used by information systems. Today, data modeling provides even greater value because critical data exists in both structured and unstructured formats and lives both on premise and in the cloud. So it’s a cost-effective and efficient way to manage and govern massive volumes of data, aligning data assets with the business functions they serve. You can automatically generate data models and database designs to increase efficiency and reduce errors to make the lives or your data modelers – and other stakeholders – much more productive.

Benefits of Data Modeling

You can’t manage what you can’t see. That’s why data modeling is a critical component of metadata management, data governance and data intelligence. It provides an integrated view of conceptual, logical and physical data models to help business and IT stakeholders understand data structures and their meaning. Data modeling is the first step to ensuring mission-critical information is used, understood and trusted across the enterprise. The primary benefits of data modeling software are the abilities to:

Discover, standardize and document existing data sources

Design and deploy high-quality data sources across disparate platforms

Visually compare, analyze and synchronize data models with deployed data assets

Support expanding regulatory requirements, such as GDPR and CCPA

Empower employees with self-service
access for enterprise data capability, literacy and accountability

Govern data modeling teams, processes, portfolios and lifecycle to support expanding regulatory requirements

Author and integrate active data governance constructs, metadata configurations and stakeholder feedback to simplify collaboration across key roles and improve alignment

Improve business processes for operational efficiency

Data modeling tools have proved that if you take the time and make the investment upfront, you avoid the pain of costly mistakes further along in the development process. So the data model is a low-risk, low-cost capability that supports many use cases, including:

  • Database design and deployment with schema maintenance
  • Master data management and data integration
  • Metadata management
  • Analytics/business Intelligence design and data source analysis
  • Data warehouse and data lake design/documentation
  • Big Data adoption
  • DBMS rationalization and migration
  • Data governance
  • Data intelligence

Why erwin’s Data Modeling Software?

erwin pioneered data modeling and has been working with the world’s largest enterprises for more than 30 years to help them realize its advantages. erwin Data Modeler (erwin DM) remains the most trusted software for data modeling and database design, automating complex and time-consuming tasks related to data source discovery, design, documentation, standardization and deployment.

We’ve developed what we believe to be the best data modeler with customer input, ensuring all our functionality, workflows and support help the professional data modeler in producing the desired business outcomes. With erwin DM, you can model any data from anywhere to:

  • Visualize business and technical database structures in an integrated model rich in metadata
  • Standardize and reuse core definitions and data structures across projects with the data model and associated metadata stored in a central repository
  • Store business definitions and data-centric business rules in the model along with technical database schemas, procedures and other information
  • Extract and convert data from ERP, CRM and other enterprise applications
  • Rationalize platform inconsistencies and deliver a single source of truth for all enterprise business data
  • Give business users confidence in the information they use to make decisions

Additionally, erwin DM is part of the larger erwin EDGE platform that integrates enterprise architecture and business process modeling with data catalog and data literacy capabilities.

If you’ve got data, then you need data modeling to see and understand all your enterprise data assets. Use erwin DM to reduce complexity and promote enterprise data literacy, collaboration and accountability.

Learn More

Helpful Resources